Office of the President - Home


Ellen M. Granberg 

19th President of the George Washington University 



Ellen M. Granberg is the 19th President of the George Washington University, a preeminent research university and the largest institution of higher education in the nation’s capital.

An accomplished academic leader, Dr. Granberg has a record of strengthening teaching and research excellence across disciplines, supporting a diverse and inclusive community of students, faculty, and staff, and collaborating with all stakeholders to drive transformative change and increase institutional prominence. She became the first woman to serve as GW’s President when she took office on July 1, 2023.

Previously, Dr. Granberg served as Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs at Rochester Institute of Technology (RIT) and was a professor and senior leader at Clemson University.


Learn More About President Granberg





Engaging with the GW Community

President Granberg is engaging with the campus community this summer and fall by attending meetings with staff, gatherings with faculty, and events with students. Beyond campus, she is connecting with stakeholders in the District and capital region. And beginning in September, she will be on the road, meeting GW's alumni, families, and friends in cities across the country. GW Together represents the effort among everyone in the GW community to work in the university's third century toward a collective ambition.


Learn More About GW Together



Recent University News


Message Regarding Police Activity in University Yard

May 8, 2024

A message from President Ellen M. Granberg and Provost Christopher Alan Bracey to the GW community regarding the police activity in University Yard.

Message Regarding the Ongoing Campus Protests

May 5, 2024

A message from President Ellen M. Granberg to the GW community regarding the ongoing protest activity.

Message from President Granberg and Provost Bracey on Protest Activity, April 28

April 28, 2024

A message to the GW community regarding the recent university protest activity on April 28, 2024.